Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

This is a list of airports in Nigeria, grouped by type and sorted by location. In all Nigerian has a total of 30 airports which were either built by the Nigerian Airforce, Multinational oil companies who have offshore needs or privately owned. One of such is Murtala Mohammed Airport II owned by Bi-Courtney Aviation services. Others are the Akwa Ibom Airport alongside other airfields and airstrips in different parts of the country.

26 of the 30 airports in Nigeria are been administered by the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN). Out of which five are International Airports where Immigrations and Customs stands can be found. These checks and more are put in place to ensure the passengers travelling between countries are compliant with immigration laws.

International Airports are known to have longer runways, heavier aircraft, and several checks before boarding. 

Murtala Mohammed International Airport
List of International Airports in Nigeria:


LAGOS Murtala Muhammed International Airport DNMM LOS
ABUJA Nnamdi Azikiwe International airport DNAA ABV
PORT HARCOURT Port Harcourt International Airport DNPO PHC
KANO Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport DNKN KAN
ENUGU Akanu Ibiam International Airport DNEN ENU

Twenty-Two (22) Local Airports are available for travel within Nigeria which only requires travellers to tender a valid means of identification. Customs and Immigration officers are not stationed here and the runways are usually shorter to their international counterparts.

List of Domestic airports in Nigeria:

1. Delta Asaba International Airport DNAS ABB
2. Bauchi Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Airport DNBC BCU
3. Edo Benin Airport DNBE BNI
4. Cross River Margret Ekpo International Airport DNCA CBQ
5. Oyo Ibadan Airport DNIB IBA
6. Plateau Yakubu Gowon Airport DNJO JOS
7. Borno Maiduguri International Airport DNMA MIU
8. Imo Sam Mbakwe Airport DNIM QOW
9. Akwa Ibom Akwa Ibom International Airport DNAI QUO
10. Adamawa Yola Airport DNYO YOL
11. Ondo Akure Airport DNAK AKR
12. Bauchi Bauchi Airport DNBA
13. Kebbi Kebbi International Airport DNBK
14. Jigawa Dutse International Airport DNDS
15. Kwara Ilorin Airport DNIL ILR
16. Taraba Jalingo Airport DNJA
17. Katsina Katsina Airport DNKT DKA
18. Benue Makurdi Airport DNMK MDI
19. Niger Minna Airport DNMN MXJ
20. Delta Warri Airport DNSU QRW
21. Kaduna Zaria Airport DNZA ZAR
22. Kaduna Kaduna International Airport DNKA KAD

inside a Nigerian airportAirstrips not managed by Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN)

1. Akwa Ibom Akwa Ibom Airport Airstrip DNAI QUO
2. Kogi Ajaokuta Airstrip
3. Kwara Bacita Airstrip
4. Gombe Bajoga Northeast Airport DN54
5. Cross River Bebi Airstrip
6. Niger Bida Airstrip
7. Akwa Ibom Eket Airstrip
8. Delta Escavros Airstrip
9. Zamfara Gusau Airstrip
10. Yobe Nguru Airstrip
11. Yobe Potiskum Airstrip
12. Niger Shiroro Airstrip
13. Kebbi Tuga Airstrip
14. Benue Makurdi Air Force Base DNMK MDI
15. Rivers Port Harcourt NAF Base PHG
16. Kaduna Kaduna Air Force Base


Others are reading:

Nigerian drinks to consider for functions

Visa-free countries for Nigerians

Nigerian snack Food




Deprecated: Theme without comments.php is deprecated since version 3.0.0 with no alternative available. Please include a comments.php template in your theme. in /home/vectatravels/ on line 5413

One response to “List of Airports in Nigeria & Their IATA Codes”

  1. I need all the airport code in my Gmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

You'll Love to See These TWO

Thanks for subscribing to our newsletter. Kindly Check Your Inbox for a Confirmation Email.

It's Time For Uncommon Destinations

Subscribe to our mailing list and get a special surprise